EECS Announcements

Syndicate content
Recent news for the University of California, Berkeley Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences.
Updated: 14 weeks 6 days ago

EECS graduate student Cameron Rose featured in National Geographic magazine

December 19, 2013 - 00:00

EECS graduate student Cameron Rose, a member of Prof. Ron Fearing’s Biomimetic Millisystems Laboratory was featured in a National Geographic article titled, “ Dreams of the World: Flight Simulation of Robotic Birds with Cameron Rose, UC Berkeley”. A licensed pilot, Cameron talks about his work on the H2Bird, a 13 gram flapping-winged robot that includes custom-designed electronics for sensing and control.


Alexandre Bayen awarded the IEEE Antonio Ruberti Research Prize

December 17, 2013 - 00:00

Alexandre Bayen has been awarded the IEEE Antonio Ruberti Research Prize for his contributions to control and estimation of partial differential equations with applications to large scale sensing in traffic flow and shallow water systems - in reference to the Mobile Millennium and the Floating Sensor Network. This award recognizes distinguished cutting-edge contributions by a young researcher to the theory or application of systems and control. (Antonio Ruberti was one of the early pioneers of geometric control methods for nonlinear systems.)


Marti Hearst and Satish Rao have been awarded 2013 ACM Fellows

December 16, 2013 - 00:00

Marti Hearst and Satish Rao have been awarded 2013 ACM Fellows, the Association for Computing Machinery's most prestigious member grade recognizing the top 1% of ACM members for their outstanding accomplishments in computing and information technology and/or outstanding service to ACM and the larger computing community. Prof. Hearst is recognized for contributions to information retrieval and computational linguistics, and Prof. Rao for contributions to algorithms for graph partitioning and for single- and multi-commodity flows.


Dan Garcia and Brian Harvey's Beauty & Joy of Computing on Fox News affiliate

December 13, 2013 - 00:00

Dan Garcia and Brian Harvey are working with Microsoft's TEALS program to partner engineer with computing teachers to offer their Beauty and Joy of Computing course. This was just featured on a Fox News affiliate video titled " How to Get Kids Interested In Computer Science" (starts at 1:30), as part of their coverage of the Hour of Code.


Michael Lustig appeared in a video shown on “The Pearl Report”

December 10, 2013 - 00:00

Michael Lustig appeared in an interview with Prof. Dave Donoho of Stanford, who has received the Shaw Prize, an international prize that honors individuals whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind. Prof. Lustig shares research on Pediatric MRI projects with Prof. Donoho. The Shaw Prize carries a $1M monetary award, which Prof. Donoho has donated a portion to support Prof. Lustig's research. The interview appears on The Pearl Report” (start 14:50, Prof. Lustig starts at 19:03), a popular science TV program broadcast in Hong Kong.


Drs. Tzu-Yin Chiu and Mark Liu named recipients of the 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award for EE

December 6, 2013 - 00:00

Dr. Tzu-Yin Chiu and Dr. Mark Liu are the recipients of the 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award for Electrical Engineering. Dr. Chiu, Ph.D. (’83) in EE was advised by Prof. William Oldham. He is the CEO and Executive Director at SMIC and was instrumental in advancing the semiconductor industry in China. He is also a philanthropist who sponsors the living stipend of 150 students under “Zhejiang Xinhua Compassion Education Foundation.” Dr. Mark Liu, MS/Ph.D. (’80 and “83) was also advised by Prof. Bill Oldham. Dr. Liu is President and co-CEO of TSMC and is serving as a member of Board of Directors in Silicon System Manufacturing Company in Singapore. Prior to this he was Senior Vice President of Operations from 2009 to 2012. From 2006 to 2009, he was a Senior Vice President responsible for the Advanced Technology Business at TSMC.


EECS graduate students win IEEE Data Storage Best Paper

December 6, 2013 - 00:00

A paper by EECS graduate students Rashmi K. Vinayak and Nihar B. Shah has received the IEEE Data Storage Best Paper and Best Student Paper awards for the years 2011 & 2012. The paper, titled “Optimal Exact-Regenerating Codes for Distributed Storage at the MSR and MBR Points via a Product-Matrix Construction,” designs algorithms for reliable and resource-efficient distributed storage that are also provably optimal. The paper is co-authored with P. Vijay Kumar from the Indian Institute of Science.


David Culler named recipient of the 2013 Okawa Prize

December 4, 2013 - 00:00

David Culler has been selected as a recipient of the 2013 Okawa Prize, which is awarded annually by the Okawa Foundation for Information and Telecommunications. This prize recognizes those who have made outstanding contributions to research, technological development and business in these fields. Prof. Culler was selected "For pioneering contributions to the design and development for wireless sensor networks." Lofti Zadeh and John Whinnery each are past recipients (in 1996 and 1997, respectively) of this prestigious award.


Krste Asanović named IEEE Fellow for 2014

December 4, 2013 - 00:00

Krste Asanovic has been selected as an IEEE Fellow for 2014. IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade. Prof. Asanovic is recognized for his contributions to computer architecture.


Aadithya Karthik wins first place at ACM Student Research Competition

December 2, 2013 - 00:00

EECS graduate student Aadithya Karthik (advisor Jaijeet Roychowdhury) has just won first place (the gold medal) at the ACM Student Research Competition (Design Automation category) at this year's ICCAD for his work on ABCD (Accurate Booleanization of Continuous Dynamics), a project they are doing jointly with Bob Brayton.


Sehat Sutardja and Weili Dai awarded the Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award

December 2, 2013 - 00:00

EECS alumni Dr. Sehat Sutardja and Ms. Weili Dai are the first recipients to be jointly awarded the Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award by the Global Semiconductor Alliance (GSA). Dr. Sutardja is Chairman, CEO and Co-Founder, and Ms. Dai is President and Co-Founder of Marvell Technology Group Ltd. (Marvell). The duo of successful business partners will be presented with this lifetime achievement award during the GSA Awards Dinner Celebration on Thursday, December 12, 2013.


EECS graduate student and alum received best paper award at OOPSLA

November 26, 2013 - 00:00

Ari Rabkin (Amplab alum, now post-doc @ Princeton) and Parlab graduate student Leo Meyerovich received the best paper award at OOPSLA for their work on the " Empirical Analysis of Programming Language Adoption" .


EECS Professors Hartmann & Paulos featured in Forbes magazine article

November 26, 2013 - 00:00

Björn Hartmann and Eric Paulos were featured in a Forbes Magazine article titled “ Educating A Maker: The Berkeley Perspective”. Two classes, “ Interactive Device Design”, taught by Prof. Hartmann and “ Critical Making”, taught by Prof. Paulos are designed to fashion student “Makers” at UC Berkeley by bridging the gap between theory and practice.